top of page
Search

Chapter 3- The Monster Mash

By October, I was still unsure of the new bosses’ little click, but was getting used to them a little better. They seemed to really be impressed with me. They always asked for my input and advice. Of course I still thought that they wanted to impress Mom.

On Thursday October 16th, Kasey had asked if I could come down to the office during my conference for some reason ,and I was a bit nervous.

“Knock knock…” I tapped on Kasey’s office door.

“Come on in.” Kasey replies. She and the assistant principal Robbie Langston were sitting in the office at Kasey’s desk. Robbie said that at the time Kasey seemed to light up when I entered the office. She had helped Kasey this job. The pair had been college friends, and Robbie knew this job was perfect for Kasey, but she was wondering if something or someone else was perfect for Kasey too.


“You wanted to see me.” I said as I looked up with my glowing baby blue eyes into Kasey’s chocolate browns. A vive is there, but neither of us knew what it was. (Kasey said that she noticed that my eyes glowing)


“Umm..Yes.. we just wanted to thank you for all that you have done and all that you do. You have done an excellent job as team lead and getting the year running smoothly.” Kasey said.


“Oh..Well..Thank you, I appreciate that. I love my job.” I replied. “My mother would be proud of the job you have done getting the year started off good.” Then, Kasey and I stared smitten at each other…..smiling…I felt like I was in a daze, and that we were the only two people in the world at that moment.


Robbie looked at us back and forth and finally chimes in...

“ …….so the monster mash is coming up soon ,and we are expecting team leads to be there or a representative of your team, but would like to see you there….” Robbie said. “If the faculty knows Susan’s daughter is on board with changes, then they will follow!”


“Oh…. okay…” I seemed a bit caught off guard. “ we’ve never had one of those in the district before… but I’ll put it on my calendar.”


“It’s Saturday night…” Robbie continues.


“Oh...as in like 2 days away?” I asked.



“Yes!...oh...and… Staff need to dress up like the characters from Frozen, but Kasey will be the only Olaf…” Robby continued.


I thought that was a little strange and very short notice, but agreed to go along with the idea for the kids. “Okay great. I’ll be there!” I said smiling as I looked at Kasey and walked out of the office to return to my classroom.


Robbie said that she immediately texted her friend and our school's instructional coach, Kerrie Fey.

“Come to my office when you get time.” the text read. A few minutes later Kerrie was in Robbie’s office ready for the gossip. And they said this is how the conversation went....


“I think Kasey is crushing on Susan’s daughter.” Robbie said.

“Really? You think?” Kerrie replied not convinced.

“I know it...you should see the way they looked at each other earlier!”

“Do you think they’d be interested in women?” Kerrie asked.

“I think if the right person comes along, then you can be into anybody you want.” Robbie answered. “You should see them together.”

“But Susan is Kasey’s boss...and our boss! And Kasey is Natalie’s boss. This could be tricky.” Kerrie has reservations.

“I say we give them a little nudge and see what happens. I have known both of them for over 8 years, and they have been through some crazy and hard times. They deserve happiness. You saw what Natalie went through when Cash died overseas. Kasey’s ex was horrible to her.” Robbie persuaded.


“Yeah..true. Okay you have convinced me. Let’s give a shot. Invite us over after the monster mash, and I’ll get Natalie to come.” Kerrie replied.


“Deal! This is going to be great!” Robbie said excitedly.


“I hope you’re right!” Kerrie said, “or we will both be out of a job.”



Later that evening my mom and dad came over for their usual Thursday night dinner with me and the twins. I had prepared lasagna , bread, and salad and of course wine.


“......And they want me to dress up like Elsa….” I complained.

“Well… it will be fun! We can keep the girls. We will go to the pumpkin patch the next day. You have fun and then relax…” mom said.


“Relax? I’ll be working 6 days this week! Why do they only expect team leads?” I whined. “I can’t even take my own kids as a parent and enjoy it.”


“Stop… whining and pour yourself a glass of wine! Everything will be fine…Take the girls for a bit, then Dad can come in and pick them up. It’s great the community is coming together. Especially with Haven being a newer school. Take some pride in this kid!” Mom smiled.

I hate when mom tries to see the bright side of things especially when I know she was probably right.

I knew mom liked it when the staff attended events, but she had never required us to or to wear a certain outfit, but it was Halloween after all, so I thought that I’d roll with it.

Then, after my parents left, and the twins were in bed, I poured myself another glass of wine and got ready to take a long bubble bath.

But just as I was about to take my first sip….my boss texted me.


“Bing!”


“Hey Natalie-

Just wondering if you could talk for a few minutes about the upcoming data for the writing assessment.” This lady was obsessed with data!! But then again so was my mother. I thought.

I stepped out the tub, dried off and puts on my robe. I drank the entire glass of wine in one gulp. Then, I called Kasey. We spent nearly an hour talking about writing. Kasey was a former 4th grade teacher before earning her principal degree, so she enjoyed chatting about her favorite subjects. I found out that Kasey and I share a lot of the same philosophies and ideas when it comes to reading and writing, so I actually enjoyed the conversation. I went to bed smiling. Kasey said that felt butterflies in her stomach as she texted me goodnight.


The next morning Kasey came upstairs first thing to tell me that she appreciated me talking with her on the phone.

Kasey said she was all cheery and happy and couldn’t wait to talk to me and tell me that she appreciated me. She said the butterflies were still there as she peeked her head into my room.

“Hey I just wanted to say thanks for the conversation last night! I appreciate you bouncing ideas back and forth ...it was nice.” Kasey smiled.


“Oh… no problem, I actually enjoyed it. I’m a writing nerd! It was nice talking to a fellow writing friend!” I smiled back and we locked eyes. I suddenly had the same butterflies in my stomach bouncing around like kids in a candy store.


“Yeah… it was! Thanks again!” Kasey said as the students start arriving in the hallway. “Well...have a good day.”


“You too…”I replied, still smiling.


“Don’t forget the monster mash tomorrow!” Kasey popped her head back in. “I hope to see you there.”


“Can’t wait!” i responded, but rolled my eyes and laid my head on the back of my chair as Kasey left.


That Saturday the school was decorated in black and orange and monsters and ghouls.

I opened her eyes wishing for a calm and peaceful Saturday of pjs and movies, but instead I was dreading dressing up like a princess for the Haven Elementary Monster Mash. I spent all day looking for an excuse to get out of the dance. I checked the twins temperatures twice and then my own. I thought about faking a stomach ache. Then, I thought about Kasey and her smiles and her brown eyes.


“Mommy… it’s time to get ready for the monster mash!” Pharah said excitedly.

“Nana said we get to go for a little bit.” Paisley added. “Let’s put on our costumes!”

I knew then that I was committed, at least I would be for the twins. Besides this was their first school event. So, I decided to make the best of it. They girls went with traditional costume. Pharah was a black cat, and Paisley was a witch. Once they were fixed up, I got myself ready. I put my blonde hair in a french braid and added some fake jewels and snowflakes. Then I put on my teal ice queen dress. My make-up looked flawless and for a minute, I thought that I was going out to a party instead of chaperoning a school monster mash. I snapped a few pictures, and we headed out the door.


Meanwhile, Kasey said she was busy making herself into a snowman at her house. She had on a white leotard with felt buttons and a huge white tutu that was so fluffy. She wore her white stockings and black boots. Her olaf headpiece with the face cut out topped it all off. She even added glitter makeup. She was so excited to have the students see her all dressed up. Paxton and Parker, her boys were dressed up like Power Rangers. She decided to leave Phoebe at home since she was only 3. Her parents were watching Phoebe and coming to pick the boys up an hour in just like Natalie’s parents, so she could actually work and chaperone. She took pictures with the boys and then headed to the Monster Mash.


It was a normal night at first, the kids were dancing and the popcorn was popping… all the adults we’re having great conversations and taking lots of pictures. I was enjoying dancing with my girls and students. I secretly kept my eyes peeled for Kasey although I didn’t want anyone else to notice. Kasey stood kind of shy off in the corner with Robbie and Kerrie. She said that laughed and smiled at me as I danced with my girls and other students. Kerrie and Robbie said they noticed. Kerrie said she nudged Robbie.

“So...Matt’s hunting this weekend. I’ve got the house to myself. Why don’t you guys come over after this for girl time?” Robbie suggested.

“That sounds like a good idea. I could use a night out.” Kerrie chimed in. “How about your Kase?” Kasey was busy watching me. “Kasey?” Kerrie said louder.

“Oh..sorry what?”

“Girls night at Robbie’s?”

“Oh...I don’t know. I’d have to see if my parents would keep the kids. Then, we have to clean up here.” Kasey was reserved.

“I was thinking we could invite Natalie.” Robbie smiled and winked at Kerrie.

Kasey perked up...“Well..I guess I could use a night off mom duty...AND it would only take a few minutes to clean up. You think she’d come? What would Susan say?” Kasey was a lot more interested in the girls night now.

“First...your parents love watching the kids...Second...the PTA will clean up….Third what Susan doesn’t know won’t hurt her!” Kerrie chimed in.

Since the dance was 3 hours long, at 6:00 after an hour, my dad picked up the twins.

“Mom said you can pick them up tomorrow at Sunday dinner.” he said. “We’re going to the pumpkin patch at around 1:00.

“Thanks DAD! Bye girls. I love you. Have fun with Nana and Pop Pop.” I kissed them bye. Just then, Kasey walked out with the boys. The butterflies were back in my stomach, dancing away.

“Thanks for taking them. I’ll pick them up tomorrow by noon.” Kasey told her parents.

“No hurry! We are going to carve pumpkins tomorrow.” Kasey’s mom replied in her English accent.

“Bye guys! I love you.” Kasey said as they drove away.

Kasey and I started to walk back in the school together.

“Here, let me get the door for you.” Kasey smiled.

“Thank you.” I smiled back. “You know you should come join us on the dance floor. The kids would love it.”

“HA! I have two left feet.” Kasey laughed.

“Kids don’t care!” I laughed and grabbed Kasey’s arm and pulled her to the dance floor. We did the hokey pokey and Cuban shuffle… we laughed and twirled kids around. I hadn’t laughed that much in a long time and frankly Kasey said neither had she. Outsiders states that -Everyone was enjoying watching us dance with the kiddos. It was nice to see the old boss’s daughter welcoming the new boss. The moral was starting to pick up. Pretty soon other teachers joined it. Even Kerrie and Robbie tried to bust a move. Then the song “Do You Want to Build a Snowman?” came on and everyone screamed! All the kids s started yelling “Ms.Roberts!! Ms. Akins!! Ms. Roberts! Ms. Roberts!” So the I reached for her hand, and she placed it mine. We started twirling each other around and dancing. We pulled Robbie in who was dressed like Anna in. Everyone was screaming with excitement. I couldn’t believe how much fun she was having.

Towards the end of the night, Kerrie pulled me aside,


“We’re going to go to Robbie’s house after this for some drinks and adult conversation if you’re free.”


“Who is?” I questioned, wondering if Robbie was inviting the entire staff over for a party.


“Just Robbie and me….and oh...Kasey. We thought you’d like to come too.” Kerrie answered.

“ My husband is out of town and I have extra beds, so you don’t have to drive.” Robbie joined in the conversation. “We could all use a girls night!”


I hesitated. Would my mom approve of drinking with the principal, her boss? Probably not. She never socialized unprofessionally outside of school….


“I should probably go home … I’m pretty beat.” I replied.


“Come on Akins! Stop being a mama's girl!” Kerrie teased. “You know you need a night off.”


“You know her rules!” I replied.


“It’s not the entire school or a few teachers. It’s just you. You’ve earned it.” Robbie said.


I was still unsure, and felt like they were just being nice to me because my mom was their boss.


“ Come on Natalie! It will be fun!” Kasey smiled. “We won’t tell.” I smiled back at Kasey staring into her chocolate brown eyes. Then I thought maybe I could go for a little bit… I did enjoy talking with Kasey and the vibe we had.


“Well alright… it does sound fun. I could use adult time.” I finally says.


“Hey we all could!” Kerrie said.


So, after the dance ended at 8:00, we headed over to Robbie’s house. It was still warm out, so we sat out by her pool. Robbie made sangrias and Kerrie poured shots.


“Alright ladies, here’s to a great night!” Robbie raised her shot glass.


“.....And to a great first 9 weeks of school!” Kasey added. We cheered and tossed back the first shot. Then, Robbie poured sangrias and the conversations started. We talked about the school, and they fished a little for mom‘s opinion on how she liked their work, but I wasn’t giving off any information that quickly. We did a second shot in honor of Susan Akins… my mom, one of Jasper’s best principal’s in history.

We must’ve talked and laughed for hours, but at 11:00 pm. Kerrie and Robbie went inside for a while to watch a movie and drink more wine.


Kasey and I sloshed in the lounge chairs drinking more sangria and talking about everything.


We found out they are actually neighbors. Kasey built a huge 2 story modern gray farmhouse on 10 acres just north of Jasper in the country. 100 yards from her back door past her pool and just a short walk is a smaller yellow 2 story farmhouse, my house that my parents gave me as a wedding gift when I married Cash. (My dad is a corn and cattle farmer. Her family is well off with good money. Neither mom nor I need to work, but we both enjoy the kids and the school system, so worked for fun. I want people to think of as normal and not a spoiled little rich girl.


“Maybe we can help each other with our kids! I know you’re busy, so if you ever need anything just holler. I can take them home or to school or watch them during a board meeting.” I suggested.


“That would be great!” Kasey replied. “ It’s nice to have someone I know so close.”


“ It takes a village to raise kids! “ I replied.


“Amen to that!” Kasey smiled. We continued to talk about life and our kids and our tragedies. Then, we grabbed each other’s hands and even cried for a minute at some of the harsh things life had dealt us.

Kerrie had passed out on the coach, so Robbie joined us outside for more sangrias. At half past midnight, we went inside and our lives were forever changed.


“ we have 2 bedrooms joined with a jack and Jill bathroom. Kasey you can take this one and Natalie that one...here are some shorts and shirts… I’m going to hit the sack.” Robbie said as she walks out and closes the door.

“Thank you Robbie. This was really fun.” Natalie said.Then, I grabbed my shorts and shirt and began slipping out of my Elsa dress in Kasey’s as Robbie closed the door.

Kasey also began changing but in the midst of pulling her tights off she stumbles and begins to fall. Natalie turns to keep her from falling hard… the pair lock eyes… Then Kasey reaches up and gently kisses Natalie. Natalie begins to kiss her back. The two begin this hard and heavy make out session. Then, Natalie pulls Kasey on to the bed and the two continue to undress each other. The night was long and passionate. Both women felt confident and comfortable and completely fulfilled with the uncontrollable sex. They ended up falling asleep in each other’s arms…

The next morning they awoke to Robbie knocking on the door. The both opened their eyes and looked at each other and shot up!


“Oh! No! What did I do? You’re my boss!” Natalie says!

“ Go to the other room… Robbie !” Kasey whispers. “Oh boy!”


Natalie ran through the bathroom and into the other bedroom and began to put clothes on. Kasey puts her clothes on and sits on the bed in shock. “ I slept with Susan Akins daughter! I slept with my boss's daughter!”


“ you! I slept with my boss!” Natalie says. Both women were in shock, scared , and didn’t really know what to do. But they both agreed on one thing. This would never happen again!


“Okay! Here’s what we’re going to do...we’re just going to pretend like this didn’t happen….” Kasey says.


“Yes… never happened!” Natalie replies.


“ we were drunk and not ourselves… “ Kasey says.


“ yes! We weren’t ourselves…” Natalie agrees!


“ ok! Yes! So we will continue life as normal… from this point on.” Kasey says.


“Sounds good!” Natalie smiles. “Well I better get going…”


“Yeah! So… see you Monday!” Kasey says.



Natalie races down the stairs, past Robbie and Kerrie, and out the door with not so much as word. Kasey comes down stairs and tries to act normal.


“What was that?” Robbie asked.

“What was what?” Kasey replies.

“What’s wrong with Natalie?” Robbie asked.

“Oh did she leave? Maybe she’s late or something.” Kasey says pouring herself a cup of coffee. Robbie and Kerrie stare at each other and know something is going on, but decide to let it play out. At least for a little while.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page